

DISTRICT COUNCIL OF GRANT

MEDIA RELEASE

For Immediate Release

19 January 2021

HONOURING THOSE WHO MAKE A DIFFERENCE TO OUR COMMUNITY

The 2021 District Council of Grant Australia Day Award recipients have been announced and will be formally recognised at a private Australia Day Award Presentation event on Tuesday 26 January. The Australia Day Awards recognise noteworthy involvement and service that contributes to the advancement and wellbeing of the District Council of Grant community.

District Council of Grant Mayor Richard Sage said "As a Council we feel that it is important to celebrate the award recipients and nominees as they have all made a positive difference to our community and should feel very proud to be nominated."

Port MacDonnell resident Jeremy levins has been named the 2021 Citizen of the Year. The talented artist has been involved with a range of community projects, causes and organisations over the years particularly those focused on youth, the environment and mental health.

Young Citizen of the Year, 24 year old Libby Altorfer of Allendale East has been an active member of the Country Fire Service (CFS) since joining as a cadet nine years ago and has recently joined the Port MacDonnell SA Ambulance Service.

The Bay Escape was selected as Community Event of the Year with approximately 4,500 people descending on Port MacDonnell to enjoy the volunteer run street festival in February 2020.

The Kingsley and Mount Gambier District CFS groups have been acknowledged with the new Active Citizenship Award. The Groups cover the entire district of Grant as the primary emergency service for fire, vehicle accident and other emergencies locally. They are made up entirely of volunteers with over 300 active personnel available 24 hours a day 7 days a

Principal Office: 324 Commercial St West, Mount Gambier PO Box 724 Mount Gambier SA 5290

 Telephone:
 (08) 8721 0444

 Fax:
 (08) 8721 0410

 Email:
 info@dcgrant.sa.gov.au

Branch Office: Corner of Charles & Meylin Streets Port MacDonnell SA 5291 week. The horrific fire season of 2019/2020 also saw 65 of their volunteers deployed to other regions totalling 21,000 man hours on the fire ground plus many more volunteer hours spent in coordination of personnel and appliances.

Late last year Council made the difficult decision to replace its annual Australia Day BBQ Lunch with a private event to celebrate its Australia Day Award nominees and recipients due to Covid-19 restrictions and with the health and safety of its community foremost in mind.

Other deserving nominees who will be recognised at the event are Yahl Soldiers Memorial Hall 100 year celebration, Liza Kirby and Aunty Michelle Jacquelin-Furr who will also perform a Welcome to Country at the presentation event. 2020 South Australian Young Citizen of the Year Caitlin McMahon will be a special guest.

END

Media Contact:	Name Contact Email	Darryl Whicker, Chief Executive Officer 8721 0444 Darryl.whicker@dcgrant.sa.gov.au
Authorised by:	Darryl Whicker, Chief Executive Officer	



PHOTO CAPTION:

Jeremy levins with youth he mentored during the painting of his design for the Tarpeena Skate Park project.

Principal Office: 324 Commercial St West, Mount Gambier PO Box 724 Mount Gambier SA 5290

 Telephone:
 (08) 8721 0444

 Fax:
 (08) 8721 0410

 Email:
 info@dcgrant.sa.gov.au

Branch Office: Corner of Charles & Meylin Streets Port MacDonnell SA 5291